Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Irish Politicians - eircom League

Liz McManus would attended a few of our games, her husband would be a big Bray fan

I'm afraid you'll have to read it instead.

Further to your revelation that he's a Shamrock Rovers fan, googlenews conor linehan kebabs racist.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    I'm afraid you'll have to read it instead.

Further to your revelation that he's a Shamrock Rovers fan, googlenews conor linehan kebabs racist.
    Well the foot in the mouth disease seems to run in the family! A mistake but hardly means he's a racist given where he works.

3,231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Anyone could claim to have supported a team that went defunct 30+ years ago!
    True...though it wasn't actually Bertie who claimed to be a supporter - I assume you saw/heard about the letter to the editor in the Irish Times from Bertie's brother asking the fans at Lansdowne not to boo him because he used to pick gooseberries as a kid to pay for his Drums ticket? Quality stuff!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Well the foot in the mouth disease seems to run in the family! A mistake but hardly means he's a racist given where he works.

Dail Eireann?

I don't H at all so i won't KO.

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    MARY o Rourke follows Dundalk
    LOL

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Anyone could claim to have supported a team that went defunct 30+ years ago !!
    Didn't Tony Blair make some guffaw about watch Jackie Milburn at Newcastle when Blair would have 2 years old or something when he played with them...?

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    A mistake but hardly means he's a racist given where he works.
    Yeah the fact that he was appointed into a position at random by Bertie obviously means he isn't racist.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Yeah the fact that he was appointed into a position at random by Bertie obviously means he isn't racist.
    I meant that just because he made a mistake does not necessarily make him a racist. Understand?

Well it was the "retraction", and the apathy of Bertie i found most offensive.

This is a trifle off topic but in the early 90s we were running the finals of local Primary Schools footie in Ahascragh (yes THAT Ahascragh as in Don't feed the Gondolas ) and a few local TDs turned up to spew the usual BS.
    Anyway, we noticed that one local TD was missing until he appeared halfway through the proceedings.
    TBF to the guy, when we asked him did he get our invite he said he wasn't sure as his secretary may have not passed it on.
    So,when I asked him how did he know about the finals. God's truth, this is verbatim as to what he said, "Well, I was on my way home and I saw the crowd so I came in to find out what was going on". LOL
    Jaysus, TDs - when they even smell a few potential votes they'll appear.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red
    AFAIK Larry O'Toole (Sinn Féin) is a Shamrock Rovers fan also.
    I wouldn't say that to his face - Larry is a born and bred gypo!

Quote Originally Posted by Tenderloins
    Fianna Fail TD Charlie O'Connor has been at a good few Rovers games.
    The late Neil Blaney TD (uncle of current TD Niall Blaney) was President of the FAI from 1968-73.
    I remember him getting terrible stick in the papers when, as President of the FAI, he attended a Donegal Gah game in Croker which was on the same time as the FAI Cup Final.

Brian Lenihan attended a fair few Athlone Town games in the past. He used to play for Gentex FX in his younger days I believe and was pretty nifty too.
    Maybe the Athlone lads here will clarify things about all that.

Mary O'Rourke was supportive too when Town were organising various fund raising schemes etc etc. She always made time to meet us to discuss plans and so on.

74 Posts
    Michael D is a Legend in Terryland and has supported Galway since the beginning and is now president of the Club. He is also a gentleman who is might craic had a great chat with him about the latest gift grub CD and the Micky D. Sketch he thought it was hillarious.

Originally posted by northside hoop
    Think he's a boez ****.

Originally posted by Passive
    My mistake. I just thought he was a Rovers fan. A few seasons ago when Shels played Rovers (in Richmond on a Sunday afternoon - 1-0 Shels, Mark Roberts winner) he was in the stand at the Rovers end. He maybe just a big eL fan and attends as many games as possible!
    Who Cares?!

Or maybe he really hates Shels.

Quote Originally Posted by Passive
    Yeah a Bohs member as far as I know and regular European away traveller (when we used to have regular European games)

Macy and Pete, get a history lesson for God’s sake. And not one of Passive’s arse-over-tit makey-up ones. I suppose, by your logic, the agents of Michael Collins who infiltrated Dublin Castle were West Brit garrison-monkeys just because they shuffled some paperwork for Queen Victoria.

Bohemians were formed in 1890 by an IRB spy ring who had subverted the Dublin garrisons of the British Army (one of the most powerful in the world at the time) but needed a front to meet and pass their information, especially in the winter because the Phoenix park was proving to be pretty cold. By also infiltrating the medical wing of the occupation force they also ensured the deaths of countless Royal Irish Regiment personnel by infecting them with syphilis, known colloquially during the times as “The Hooped Disease” or “The Ringsend Rot”.

Everyone with more than superficial knowledge of Irish history knows that Bohemians have the richest deepest and most vibrant nationalist character of any association football club. For example, the original colours of the Starry Plough flag of James Connolly’s ICA were red and black in honour of Bohemians FC. But, they were changed to green and silver after the original was stolen and burned during a game in 1902 with a team recently formed from Ringsend street-drifters and the unemployed sons of Montgomery Street workers. The flag was changed to the more familiar blue and yellow after a Bohemians game against a different team of Ringsend criminals in 1913 who attempted to turn the Bohemian revolutionaries in to the British Imperial authorities by presenting them with the stolen flag.

In 1916 Dalymount was considered by the IRA army council as a site for staging the rising due to the staunchly republican nature of the area but Bolands Mills was eventually settled on as they decided that any collateral damage to civilians would be better suffered among the traditional supporters of the British Empire. This theory proved to be well founded as the British Navy gunboat Helga fired on every rebel position within range except the Bolands Mills even though it was the closest.

Bohemians = Nationalist Team.
    FACT!!!
    Cogito ergo Bohs

Quote Originally Posted by Carlin
    Yeah a Bohs member as far as I know and regular European away traveller (when we used to have regular European games)
    Yeah Larry is a born and bred Bohs fan. Have met him at a few away Euro games as well as most venues away in Ireland.

On the opposite side I hear John Bruton is also a Bohs fan, mentioning the 6-4 in Santry against Rovers as one of his favourite events.

Quote Originally Posted by chippie0001

On the opposite side I hear John Bruton is also a Bohs fan, mentioning the 6-4 in Santry against Rovers as one of his favourite events.
    blueshirts.... irish hibernians...shooting ira men.... too easy!!!!

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast