Thread: Cork selling themselves short again?

Thumbs down Cork selling themselves short again?

Ipswich Town have had a £70,000 offer for midfielder George O’Callaghan accepted by eircom League side Cork City, according to local media reports in England. More

I thought this was going to be a thread about how Cork should not just settle on being the capital of Ireland, but should demand that they become the new capital of the EU, can't let those damn Belgians get away with undermining Cork forever you know

I forgot to mention that to.......

This makes the Trevor Molloy(30) deal look like the best bit of business ever transacted by an Irish club

Your having a laugh right ? Bray got €75k for a 3 month loan deal when Zayed went to Norway

100grand plus for aplayer you dont want with not that much left on his contract - good deal

zayed was a youngfella

and how much did Devlin pocket?!?!

Ipswich undoubtedly knew that Cork were stuck with a player they wanted shot of.

In light of that, it could've been worse.

Good riddens to him. Will be interesting to see if he does anything in England.

70 Posts
    Cork have little choice, the situation between O'Callaghan and Rico is untenable and they want rid of him and everyone knows it. They're playing hardball with O'Donovan where they can so I don't think there's any need to lambast them.

Delighted for Georgie. Great opportunity for him. He's had a tough time of it for varying reasons over the past 18 months or so, and this is a chance for him to make a clean start. Theres no doubting he's got the talent.

To hell with the begrudgers.....

Have just seen the bit about Dunfermline in the article.

Surprised to hear Kenny is after Bad Boy George as well.

I do wonder whetehr Cork could've held out for a little bit more though. Ipswich were obviously keen.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Delighted for Georgie. Great opportunity for him. He's had a tough time of it for varying reasons over the past 18 months or so, and this is a chance for him to make a clean start. Theres no doubting he's got the talent.

To hell with the begrudgers.....
    Yeah go on George, ya drink driving thuggish legend ya ! Feck the begrudgers - the world needs more people with that kind of talent....!

Quote Originally Posted by wws View Post
    zayed was a youngfella

and how much did Devlin pocket?!?!
    That was how much Bray got out of the deal.

Gorgie is one of the better players in our league, he is a gifted player no doubting that ! But i feel Cork are still selling themselves short

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Yeah go on George, ya drink driving thuggish legend ya ! Feck the begrudgers - the world needs more people with that kind of talent....!
    Yeah...just like it needs bigoted, narrow minded arseholes that never put a foot wrong themselves....

Cork get rid of Georges high wages, they could have been stuck with him for another 5 or 6 months until the transfer window opens again.
    He must surely be an unsettling element in the Cork squad too.
    So to hold out and try to get a decent fee for him would have been a risk.
    I'm sure Cork will have some % of future sales in the transfer too.

Still his fee must surely be one of the highest recieved by an EL team for a player?

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    Gorgie is one of the better players in our league, he is a gifted player no doubting that ! But i feel Cork are still selling themselves short
    IMO £70k would be a good deal at this stage. No need to go back over what has happened but our Chairman has backed his manager so George won't play for City again. He has a year left in his contract & CCFC do not want to seel to another eL club.

If you are unable to offer a different solution I can only view this as trolling...

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post

You're very bitter aren't ya!
    Don't talk about things you haven't a clue about.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Yeah...just like it needs bigoted, narrow minded arseholes that never put a foot wrong themselves....
    I'd rather be a "bigoted, narrow-minded arsehole" than a convicted drink-driver, thank you.

I suppose wife-beating is just 'putting a foot wrong' for you as well...?

Quote Originally Posted by Colm View Post

You're very bitter aren't ya!
    Don't talk about things you haven't a clue about.
    Bitter about what ?!?! Did George nick my pint or something...?

And are you denying that George got pulled-up for drink driving ?

Quote Originally Posted by wws View Post
    This makes the Trevor Molloy(30) deal look like the best bit of business ever transacted by an Irish club
    The sale of Molloy ranks up there with the genius decision that saw Arsenal pocket £2m for Pascal Cygan!

Hope the Georgie saga can be concluded now.