Thread: FAI Seeking New League Member

1,524 Posts

FAI Seeking New League Member

From the FAI:

The new league will consist of the 21 clubs currently in membership and it is intended to vote a new club into membership to fill the gap left by the demise of Dublin City. Advertisements inviting applications to fill the vacancy will placed in the coming week.
    It'll be interesting to see what clubs, if any, apply to join the league.

I would hope and expect that the FAI have done their research on this already, and know of interest amongst potential suitors.

It'd be embarassing for them if they did advertise and nobody applied.

I would have to guess that it will be a team coming up from the u21 league?

55 Posts

probably a tipp team with delaneys

connections hope its not another thurles town

a kerry or mayo team should be given support and a chance

I would love to see a mayo team myself, Im guessing castlebar celtic would be the first in line there?

I think letterkenny rovers are interested too along with one of the mullingar teams?

ye before we entered the league, it was between us and Mullingar Athletic (i think) to join the league. So it wouldnt suprise me if they did enter.

Word around here is tha its either Carrick United or the Statoil FAI junior cup winners Waterford Crystal.

I doubt that,the FAI will be looking for a team that will represent a county thats not already in the league, but I could be wrong.

Buts whats the craic lads on this promotion-relagation business, there was a debate here on local radio recently about it and a rep from our own club came on and they dont even know whats going on within the FAI and they havent gotten an answer from them either.
    How is a manager going to prepare a team for the following season if he dont even know what division he is gonna be playing in, typical FAI.
    Sorry for kinda going off topic a bit !

Does the league need another club? No disrespect to Kildare County but ye do not seem to be a success or maybe I am wrong.

Unless you going to bring a club from a new catchment area then no point. Mayo, Kerry would seem to be best options as they have done well in the U21 leagues.

55 Posts

what planet was that local rep of wufc on

Quote Originally Posted by Mental Man View Post
    Buts whats the craic lads on this promotion-relagation business, there was a debate here on local radio recently about it and a rep from our own club came on and they dont even know whats going on within the FAI and they havent gotten an answer from them either.
    How is a manager going to prepare a team for the following season if he dont even know what division he is gonna be playing in, typical FAI.
    Sorry for kinda going off topic a bit !

for the last 2 years, this has been well flagged and i have seen the detail required and while their is no shortage of detail, i can understand some confusion but for a rep to say he doesnt know whats goin on is crazy.
    wufc must not have attended any league or fai meetings in 2 years

Your rep must have stayed in pub with the Dundalk rep

Lads , with respect, our own manager even came out and said he wants clarification on whats happening at the end of the season, is there promotion and relagation??

DO YOU KNOW WHATS HAPPENING???

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    for the last 2 years, this has been well flagged and i have seen the detail required and while their is no shortage of detail, i can understand some confusion but for a rep to say he doesnt know whats goin on is crazy.
    wufc must not have attended any league or fai meetings in 2 years
    So do you know the decision date of the teams who will comprise the new league then?

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Would like to see a Kerry team entering in you massive catchment area and their league side has been getting decent crowds for league cup games.
    i would agree with you there
    rico sign that contract

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Does the league need another club? No disrespect to Kildare County but ye do not seem to be a success or maybe I am wrong.

Unless you going to bring a club from a new catchment area then no point. Mayo, Kerry would seem to be best options as they have done well in the U21 leagues.
    Would love to see a team enter from a population area that doesn't already have an eL team, that would be good to see.

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.
    Think there are enough teams from dublin and the midlands would prefer a team from the west or south of Ireland, so Mayo or Kerry

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post

None taken, but we are only in existence four years having said that we have haemorrhaged support since then .

just a suggestion, but would a team from wexford be any good for the League??? Has a population just as big as mayo, would be good for away support to travel to due to teams nearby (Waterford, Kilkenny, Dublin teams, Kildare, Bray, etc.), in the summer they could get even bigger crowds from all the holidayers, and their underage leagues are supposed to be good.

So theres a few reasons, what do yous think? its just a thought.........

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast