Thread: Oh ye of little faith

Oh ye of little faith

I have purposely stayed away from the forum for the past couple of weeks because the ranting was just monotonus to be honest.

Tonights result has given us some breathing space to get thisngs back on track. It takes a bit of time for a new bunch of players to gel and believe me they will. There is a stack of talent in that squad -

- Fenn is class but is being critisized because he isn't running around like a headless chicken. The guy has superb touch and 3 goals to boot.
    - George is George.
    - Flynny will be back.
    - Murphy is the find of the season.
    - Nawankwo would get on any LoI team.
    - S O'Flynn will be like a new signing when he is fit in the summer.
    - And what about Doyler.

It is not impossible for us to get maximum points in our next 3 games - and lets see where we sit after that..........would set us up nicely for the journey to the depraved land of "hobbat glass blowers". That is going to be a tasty one!

The penalty situation needs to be looked at though - particularly the number given against us towards the end of games.

There's a saying in football that these things even themselves out over a season - we're going to have a ball at this rate

Full house for Rovers - let's show Mooney and O'Hallorahan what their missing.
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

Quote Originally Posted by xtreme rebel
    we are all the anti-dolan people now!???
    I think ya mean "where are" Xtreme!

Lol

Agree with ya lads, i think in a few games we will be seeing the real City's position in the eL.

I would'nt be getting too excited yet lads.Alright ye had a good result against Bohs but wait and see how ye fare in ye're next match.Boh's are a team in turmoil at the moment(as the Robbie Doyle situation showed),theres something inherently wrong there,sure Dublin City even got a win out of them!!
    I hope it does start to come together for ye so it'll set up the Munster Derby at the end of the month nicely!!!!

Have to agree with confused blue.

It's always extreme with us, some thought we were going to win the league after the Pat's game, then some were calling for the recall of Dave Barry after the Shels game three days later.

We had a good win, but Bohs are going through a very bad spell, Thursday night is going to be difficult but if we play as we did on Friday we should come away with three points. More important is getting our Home form going, and with Rovers and Longford on the way, we have a chance to build a bit of momentum going into the Munster Derby.

But can we just take it one game at a time for the moment.

Post ...

I agree that people have got carried away, but to the players, a win at Bohs is a win at Bohs, no matter if they're understrength, etc.
    You're right though TikTok, one game at a time...

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Have to agree with confused blue.
    It's always extreme with us, some thought we were going to win the league after the Pat's game, then some were calling for the recall of Dave Barry after the Shels game three days later.
    Carried away? Us?
    I call for Tiktok to be banned from foot.ie and hung for treason.

I still think our squad is good enough for us to be challenging for second spot. We're as good as or better than the majority of the league bar one team. At this rate, Shels look like they're going to walk away with the league.

144 Posts
    I am delighted with the Bohs result and more so for the effort put in.

I don't think it was a case of "little faith".
    For me it was the frustration of knowing we have the players with the ability to do the business but them not performing.

I'm really looking forward to Waterford Kickers away now.
    I think if the next few results go right for us we'll have built some confidence and have a massive travelling support down there.

Lads I ahve been on here and stated my case that I wasn't happy with the results (no one was) but I was worried about the effort of the players and the naivety of dolans tactics.

Friday night was way better on all accounts than what we have seen this season

the players wanted it and tried very hard....the formation was solid and looked like everyone knew their role......I think this is more like it and hopefully this standard will be maintained and even if we don't win games once we have put in the effort and had a go then I will be happy but based on fridays performance we will win more than we lose if we continue in that vein

hopefullly this result won't be a flach in the pan and will kickstart the season

Go raibh maith agat pat and the lads
    Bring back the plank

Quote Originally Posted by Ozymandias
    hopefullly this result won't be a flach in the pan and will kickstart the season

Go raibh maith agat pat and the lads
    Rico still has City as the main contenders to Shels. Along with Waaaaherford. Win our next two and it sets up a huge Munster derby at the end of the month.

I think we can win the next 3 games:

Home Farm away and home games to longford and Rovers.
    I agree that it's certainly possible but it is a really difficult task.

The problem is if we bulid up that kind of expectation we'll only have all the moaners and begrudgers giving out if we only win 2 of them!

It would be the job alright though to go down to Waterford on the back of four wins and beat those cnuts!
    Champions!

I think we can win the next 3 games:

Home Farm away and home games to longford and Rovers.
    no reason why we can't. follow that up with decent results (say 4 points) away to waherfur and home to pats and we're well set up for our trip to tolka. a very good season is still possible.

Look at the wins we've got.
    Against Dublin City who were the early whipping boys.
    Against St. Pat's who are everyone's whipping boy lately.
    Against Bohs who were beaten by Dublin City for feck sake.
    The key thing is that we've failed to beat teams who can keep it tight at the back, like Shels and Drogheda. We've failed to beat teams who can score goals, like Waterford and Rovers. It's a poor league this season just like it was back in 1998/1999 when Pat's were winning.
    We've proved nothing yet.

haha

that last line is gas , 'poor league'

theres never been any real change in the general quality of the league from season to season - what has changed is the knee jerkey reactions and impatience of the fans who probably subliminaly take on board ludicrous hyped expectations from big time football and its media coverage abroad!

thats my thought for the day!

Same as always, league is very tight aside from maybe Shel$ so couple of wins & into top half & vice versa.

Only plus point for city this year is not as dependent on certain players as in the last couple of years. On the otherhand if someone was to give Jason Byrne a good kick then maybe the league would be very close...

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    theres never been any real change in the general quality of the league from season to season!
    Only one team from Dublin playing well? It's been a while since any team has had it as easy as Shels have it now.

Yes, typo!

Well who will the corner be giving **** this weekend to given that Dolan has had perhaps his finest result as City boss!! Oh ya, he's on holidays!!

one good result dont make a good season