Thread: What is the craziest thing you've done for your club

Jesus fair play to that Sligo fan. RIP.

Great thread Rodney.

Two of us were skint after the Odra game cos we didnt think we'd go through! So with the Liberec game on the saturday and no flights arranged we suggested getting the bus. After the initial laughter we found out that it was gonna take 35 hours so we decided to go for it. Went to Busaras and asked and the guy says we had to leave that day (tuesday) cos the next few days were booked out. Legged it home and packed and next thing we're on the ferry with dozens of dipsos!

No words can describe how fcuked up we were when the bus eventually got into Prague but at least we had something to look forward to. It worked out well cos we had to time to rest and sightsee and check out the boozers before the main block of Rovers arrived. The journey home was twice as bad!

I had taken a career break from the current job to travel and ended up spending most of the 2.5 years in New York. For the Djurgardens games I flew back but then got back to find the job gone! Met Liam Buckley in a Stockholm bar and he couldn't get over anyone travelling that far for a game!

Came back for the Cup Final in 2002 for a week. Massively disappointing.

Lived in Cork from 94 to 96 and went to every Rovers game home and away.

Been home since 2003 got sick of planes!!

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn
    The bloke making the presentation to him in the pic on the site for the SC, Alan Kearins is a technician in Sligo IT isn't he? He was in one or two of my classes down there.
    He's also a member of this forum-akearins is his name on here.

Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    I effectively signed Alex Nesovic for Bohs in 2001.

And that is a FACT!!!!

Do elaborate....
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

83 Posts
    I take holidays every Friday when Athlone are playing as I commute to work and would miss the start of games. Herself isn't happy that I use 10 days holidays a year for this but I am sure she will get over it eventually.

I believe we have 2 supporters from Tyrone that travel down to Mels every second week and take in the away games

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Oh yeah. I'm responsible for Pats signing Mbabazi and Ndo too. Forgot about that

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Two of us were skint after the Odra game cos we didnt think we'd go through!
    That was the same for aload of the lads aswell ... what they were doing was putting €50-€100 down on City to win in the first legs, etc. and raising the cash that way for the next round. Probably the best way to do it.

I went to Liechtenstein, after we were told my gran would not live the week out, as it turns out I made the right decision, she is still around today!!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

There was a naked fire drill done by us up at a game up in derry last year,it was the game in which the lights went out while we were beating derry, we stayed in a hotel in a staunchly loyalist part of derry, while just outside the door a fella got his 2 kneecaps blown off him in a loyalist feud, kinda funny actually.
    1 of the lads pressed the fire button at 4am in the morning and to see the expression on the girl at the desk when all the lads was running past her in their jocks etc.. was amusing to say the least .
    The things you do for your club .

537 Posts

Talking

i for one have done some mad stupid things for my club at sufficient expense for myself#

when i was in college up in Dublin da town were playin pats on a saturday night and i was stayin up that weekend! i really wanted to go the game so the only way for me to go was to go on the pats bus down to the game and back!

the slagging on the bus was soemthing else it didnt take the pats guys too long to cop on that i was a town supporter. AND GUESS WHAT we lost 3-0. dec 00 i reckon when i did that.

Mental Man wrote:

There was a naked fire drill done by us up at a game up in derry last year,it was the game in which the lights went out while we were beating derry, we stayed in a hotel in a staunchly loyalist part of derry, while just outside the door a fella got his 2 kneecaps blown off him in a loyalist feud, kinda funny actually.
    1 of the lads pressed the fire button at 4am in the morning and to see the expression on the girl at the desk when all the lads was running past her in their jocks etc.. was amusing to say the least .
    The things you do for your club .

How is that a thing that you would do for your club???

Mental Man wrote:

while just outside the door a fella got his 2 kneecaps blown off him in a loyalist feud, kinda funny actually.
    As your name suggests you actually are a bit mental, man!!
    Who Cares?!

i think going to away games in st.mel's deserves some sort of award.

left an exam after doin about a half a question so i cud get a bus back home to see rovers beat galway 3-2 in the league cup
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

On the face of it, *invest* in them would be up there..........

Funny how the craziest can be the most rewarding, isn't it?
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

89 Posts
    I was supposed to go to a presentation for a scholarship and €1,000 prize in Dublin, but forfeited it to go home to the Brandywell for a Derry v Shels game
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    I was supposed to go to a presentation for a scholarship and €1,000 prize in Dublin, but forfeited it to go home to the Brandywell for a Derry v Shels game
    Good man Kev,
    true commitment.Did we win that game?

Did you get the money later on ??

70 Posts
    I went to Bray.

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Was thinking this too, I presume he did, if not then, fair fecks to ya.

was 9 months pregnant with my son - to the day. about 6 o clock told my parents I was off to Drogheda for the match! They were a bit shocked but off i went. that was a friday night.

Eventually had baby the followin tuesday, discharged myself from the hospital on thursday and was sittin in tolka the followin day!! met one of the players in the bar afterwards and he gave me a jersey signed by the whole team for my son. Six weeks later he was christened in it!!

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Nope

Was supposed to get it the next year, but I left the university between times.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Nope

Was supposed to get it the next year, but I left the university between times.
    Jebus H ... for the feicing cause ... fair play to ya fella !!

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast