Page 11 of 60 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Junior Soccer

Dave Sheridan and Theron Coghill I think.

Erris and Snugboro is off tonight.

646 Posts
    Cheers lads,

Glenhest 1-2 Celtic
    Manulla 2-2 Ballina Town
    S & F 3-0 Swinford

Doesn't look like the prediction league will prove much of a success.
    No not heading to Kilkenny.
    Have many clubs opted to postpone their games to follow Westport do you know?
    The Super League and the Premier are scheduled for Sunday.

646 Posts
    The Celtic-Ballyheane game is postponed Sunday at Ballyheane's request to travel to Buckley Park to support Westport.

Call it emotional or whatever lads but I think all real soccer fans in the county should come out and support the Covie's at the weekend. This is the biggest match ever for Mayo soccer, bar none. Erris did it two years ago with the youths, hopefully Westport can make it a double.
    I hate to say it but are you sure it was not Castelbar Celtic who requested that game to be called off?
    They've been on such a bad run that they need time to regroup!!!!!
    Did anyone hear the Glenhest result last nite? I heard they were two nil up but nothing after that. Can someone make my day and tell me the final score.

Another result to report - Division one
    Westport B 0 - 1 Bangor Hibs.

League blown wide open!

Dave Sherildan with both goals for heane. Celtic were so lucky to get even a result last night, the wheels are truly off that band wagon. Hope players from other teams travel to support Westport but most games seem to be going ahead regardless.

GLENHEST 2-2 CELTIC. Celtic for a relegation battle !

celtic

Castlebar Celtic B not getting promoted is purely on the basis of the club having an A team in the Super League.
    Imagine if Celtic go down, then their B team could get promoted and play above their A team. That would be unreal!
    Won't happen though

Thumbs down The Don or is it Dunce

Come on Don you know well that Celtic are not relegation fodder !!!
    Whatever seems to be going on I'm sure will be sortd out. What a League we would have if only Westport would feck off somewhere else !!!!
    Hard to say who is winning the race for second Manulla look solid - surprisingly. Ballina & Erris have a good backbone The Heane have their usual early season gallop followed by ignominy. So who's left ? Really can't answer
    So where do people see the table at year end ??
    By the way maybe the blazers could invent a way to jettison westport to whereever ? What do ye think ? They have a good record at invention and I see that the Registrar Mr. Fox has hit out at his own committee, fair play to him, at least he has balls.

646 Posts
    Straide & Foxford 1-4 Swinford!!!!!!!!

Snugboro-Glenhest is called off on Sunday to support Westport.

End of Season Table:
    Westport
    Ballina
    Erris
    Manulla
    Ballyheane
    Celtic
    S&F
    Snugboro
    Swinford
    Glenhest

What do ye think.. Is it likely? Or are Celtic going to be in the relegation shake up at the end of the seson(!)

We can only hope so.

646 Posts
    Thursday 16 June
    Super League
    Manulla 1-1 Ballina Town

Sunday 19 June
    Super League
    Ballina Town 0-2 Straide & Foxford United

Moderation has been turned off so it's back to normal on the forum, although I do understand why dahatsma brought in the moderation. In fact it was a Mayo man who caused the whole tumult in the first place with some out of line comments about limerick people in general.

Anyway the current Mayo league table reads

Played Points
    Manulla 8 17
    Erris 7 13
    Ballina Town 8 12
    S & F 9 12
    Ballyheane 7 10
    Westport 4 9
    Snugboro 6 8
    Celtic 7 7
    Swinford 8 5
    Glenhest 8 3

I've deducted Westport 3 points for playing Joe Lawless and given the points to Erris and Ballyheane got deducted a point for foul and abusive language againt Eircom League referee Damien McGrath. Shame on them.
    Last edited by Closed Account; 19/06/2005 at 6:05 PM.

245 Posts
    [QUOTE=joe_denilson]

Moderation has been turned off so it's back to normal on the forum, although I do understand why dahatsma brought in the moderation./QUOTE]

lads ,
    there's a fine line between critisism and libel.
    lets keep it civil here on this forum and we can all post our opinions without the threat of the forum being closed down.

646 Posts
    Understood.

Joe Ballyheane have not yet been deducted a point. Mr Eircom referee grossly exagerated a situation because he feels he is immune to criticism. It is quite easy to write a one sided report when you know the club will have no form of reply(referee is always right). Even so a point deduction for such an incident is ludicrous and the Mayo league would really want to take a grasp on reality with its disiplinary measures. Do we want our leagues won on the pitchs or in disiplinary meetings. This matter now rests with the Connaught F.A., this is the third time this season a Mayo club has been forced to appeal its own leagues decisions. P.S Mr Damien McGrath has been involved with two of these.

Angry joe dennilson

I was most surprised by the comments from our man in the boro as regards his 'shame on them' remark. How in god's name does he know what happened in that incident ? Was he there ? Whose version is he touting ? Surely he is old enough to know that the ref - even when wrong is always right, maybe the ref was wrong and the heane had a genuine greviance . surely he knows that some members of the mayo league have been extraordinarily hard on the heane in the past. Has he witnesed this young and inexperienced man in black in action ? To say he has been involved in his fair share of controversy is an understatement. The fact that he is an eircom whistler has more to do with his youth than his ability. I think following a number of years in the super league our friend in the boro might wake up and start smelling the roses - All is not Fair in the garden you know

245 Posts
    lads,
    keep away from the personal stuff or this thread will be locked..................permanently.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 22/06/2005 at 3:03 PM.

646 Posts
    Sorry Mossy, you misunderstood me. Understandable. I was actually saying Shame on them, tongue in cheek. I know the ref in question and I have no idea what happened. Can you shed some light on the situation. The Heane are appealing it, am I right? And in my humble opinion they should win their appeal. It's ludicrous that's points should be deducted for something that you see Rooney doing every week. A fine may be more appropriate. Apologies for any misunderstanding.

The full disciplinary action taken only from the referees report was as follows:
    2 Ballyheane officials were given 1 month suspensions and fined
    Ballyheane to play next home game away from home
    1 point to be deducted.
    It is frightening to think how these decisions were reached as the league is refusing to give the club any details about how they arrived at these very severe reprimands.
    Secondly the chairman of the Mayo league was at the game and has refused to get involved even though he could have cleared one of the officials because he was standing beside him at the time. Why he has choosen to do this is a mystery and makes the club think that more sinister motives lie behind it all.
    Last edited by The Don; 20/06/2005 at 3:49 PM.

Page 11 of 60 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast