Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Rovers Fans

Before this goes completely off topic.

There isn't a single club in the EL without proper fans. We all know the problems of our league and no club would survive without proper fans behind them, whatever way those fans show their support.

Colm's clearly referring to the generation of atmosphere, and let's be honest, it's a relatively recent development for CCFC to travel in such large, vocal numbers. At the moment though, Derry and ourselves (due in no small part to our relative success this season) are travelling the country and I think for the most part, both sets of fans are making more friends than enemies and are adding a sense of occasion to each and every game.

It's a shame it doesn't seem to apply online, everyone seems to want to have a cut off us these days. This must be what's it was like to be a Shels fan the last few years.

So just to reiterate the point of the thread, well done the Rovers fans last night, who when things are so bleak at the club, stood and cheered for 15 minutes at the end of the game. It can't have been easy.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Man, I'm really starting to feel a hatred towards Cork "we have the best fans in the world" City. Come on DERRY!

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Yeah fair play to Rovers fans last night, they were excellent.... I maintain that only them, us and maybe Derry have the only sets of proper fans in this league.
    Thanks lads, but for every 10 credits of our fans, there's always the odd one out, isn't there??

From 07/11:

Quote Originally Posted by gavinzac
    last time i was at a rovers @ home game, a pint glass was thrown into our section. since i quit my job last month, myself and the missus have been to every away game but i'd rather not bring her anywhere near you scum for this one.
    That's the kind of crap that we're up against.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Shower of smalltime muppets - For gods sake ,The point of the thread was clear , it was to praise the attitude and support of Rovers last nite- why is it that EVERY single mickeymouse throwaway comment HAS to have the smallminded eacbrigade up in arms every time

To re-iterate what some city fans said about last nite - well done Rovers fans ,everyone is quick to jump when its something negative,what went on with both sets of supporters last nite was a nice gesture.Despite the result ,rovers were still proud and loud in their support, and their reception for us as they left ( and our response) are moments that journo's should be writing about
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Thanks lads, but for every 10 credits of our fans, there's always the odd one out, isn't there??

That's the kind of crap that we're up against.
    Check my posts over the last year or so and you'll see that I'm a big fan of what the 400 club are doing and hope that it's a big success. But the only time i've ever had missiles thrown at me after a game in the RSC (had a season ticket since we moved there) was at a Rovers game, so on the balance of my experiences, I can see why people have such a negative view of the fans. Clearly it's a minority but of all clubs in the league, the fact that the fans run Rovers means they have to be the most visible about stamping out bad behaviour.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

1,524 Posts
    How dare the fans of clubs that don't get 30,000 at every game react to an insult! Shame on us all, we must bow down and accept the pronouncements of Cork City fans, the properest proper fans of them all. How lucky we are to have them among us to share their wisdom and knowledge.

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    How dare the fans of clubs that don't get 30,000 at every game react to an insult! Shame on us all, we must bow down and accept the pronouncements of Cork City fans, the properest proper fans of them all. How lucky we are to have them among us to share their wisdom and knowledge.
    That's more like it! Know your place!
    Champions!

1,524 Posts
    On a more serious note- DERRY FOR THE LEAGUE!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    On a more serious note
    On a serious note, enjoy being back where you belong in the lower league.

I want to apply to be a fan of Cork City. Where can I get a form ?

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne
    CCOSC
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

POST OF THE MONTH by a mile..... Brilliant Patrick!
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Oh Jaysus, it's not like that PD, you have to go for an interview and all, it's worse than applying for a job, and theres a huge waiting list too

This is the kind of crap that ruins so many threads.
    You are unfortunate enough to be a Galway fan, live with it!

This thread was started to highlight the positive things about Shamrock Rovers support. If you've nothing to contribute, go back to bed.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    This is the kind of crap that ruins so many threads.
    You are unfortunate enough to be a Galway fan, live with it!

This thread was started to highlight the positive things about Shamrock Rovers support. If you've nothing to contribute, go back to bed.
    Leave them alone Peadar, you know that they are unable to stop themselves from displaying their jealousy and bitterness everytime someone from a big club makes a post!
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Leave them alone Peadar, you know that they are unable to stop themselves from displaying their jealousy and bitterness everytime someone from a big club makes a post!
    are cork fans the new bohs fans

big club

You see the problem is if your going to have a love in between two sets of fans, in this case Cork and Rovers, then all the other fans will get jealous and feel they deserve a bit of love. The backlash was unavoidable.

In really ebbs and flows when it comes to crowds in the league. I have seen travelling support be large and small from many teams depending on the match. Some of the Cork lads came on to genuinely applaud Rovers and well fair play. Next week, they may hate them. I wouldn't get so worked up about it all.

As for tiktoks reference to this being what its like to be a Shels fan, you haven't won the league yet . But any team that wins will be disliked and underdogs preferred. Examples are littered through sport!!!
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Mods

Obviously the mods are struggling with double entendres, hint, delete them.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas
    Obviously the mods are struggling with double entendres, hint, delete them.
    No! I prefer to leave them embarass themselves.
    Champions!

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bigmac
    Check my posts over the last year or so and you'll see that I'm a big fan of what the 400 club are doing and hope that it's a big success.
    What the 400C have achieved this year is astonishing, considering the state the club was in 6 months ago. Nobody else could/would do it, in the circumstances.

But the only time i've ever had missiles thrown at me after a game in the RSC (had a season ticket since we moved there) was at a Rovers game, so on the balance of my experiences, I can see why people have such a negative view of the fans.
    From my experience at the RSC, I have never seen missiles been thrown when we've been there. I have also never heard of any such incident there in the past.

the fact that the fans run Rovers means they have to be the most visible about stamping out bad behaviour.
    Wrong! The fact that the fans own the club, allows us to take a hardline stance against any incident involving the club's fans.

A Cork fan ran onto the pitch after they scored their second goal against Rovers, in full view of their own fans. What will happen to him?
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast