Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Who would you like to see coming in?

Who would you like to see coming in?

The pfai list is out so who would ye like to see us sign?

Most of the time the players on the list stay where they are and not all free agents are on it but it gives us a good idea of who is available.

Will throw out a few names and say:

Philip Hughes, Ger Barron, Ger O Brien, Aidan Price could be good signings.

Loads on the list that probably wouldn't be realistic. Can see Shels picking up a good few of the Bohs players with them most likely working off a very small budget if they are still around and Cork will snap up a lot of good players from the Munster region.

Have seen it mentioned about Greg O Halloran, Gary Curran and Kenny Browne as possible players we are linked to.

Locally I can't see us picking up too many if Pike are still in the hunt for the FAI. It might have been an off day but not many impressed the other day. From word on their usual performances though Conor Kavanagh and Pa Mullins would be good players to get in and I'd always like to see Colbert(boro) and Tierney back but unlikely to happen.

Hopefully a few more under 19s push into the first team also. With no A league a lot of players from that team will be lost if they go over the age limit.

I see Stephen O'Flynn and Barry Sheedy are on this list... :-(
    Also the young keeper Cusack...

See http://www.pfai.ie/news/282-pfai-transfer-list

Sheedy and oflynn will be staying im sure,maybe a ploy to put pressure for a better contract?
    Fail to prepare,prepare to fail--R.keane.

420 Posts
    Cant see Sheedy going anywhere i hope O'Flynn is gone.

Would love to see Aidan Price come in.....Ger O Brien is a very good player too but not sure if we need him if we keep Frost and Shaun Kelly.

Have to say id be delighted if Ger Barron was to sign great goalkeeper and hes from Limerick. Someone like Gary Dempsey would also be a great signing but being honest i dont think we would be able to get any of them Price and O'Brien will most likely stay in Dublin with someone like Shels or Pats and cant see Dempsey dropping to 1st division. Been told too that Barron is well settled in Dublin.

Wouldnt be thinking about signing anyone from town tbh. The best from town have already had the chances and chosen to leave.

Sean O'Connor..........

I wouldn't mind trying to sign Tiernan Mulveena from drogs but doubt he would sign tbh, but he's a quality player who i think would link up well with Behan. In all fairness we don't need to sign that many players the squad we have that finished last year is quality maybe bring in once real quailty center half to partner Pat and I think we would be more or less set for the season.

420 Posts
    Shane Guthrie is available and i think he is from Tralee....Think he would be a good signing good solid defender.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Shane Guthrie is available and i think he is from Tralee....Think he would be a good signing good solid defender.
    Good player. In the first division I think he would be a great centre back partner for Purcell.

420 Posts

That interview tells me Stevo is on his way unless he gets a
    deal that he cannot refuse,is he looking for parity with Behan
    and Gamble???Not much loyalty there....

Quote Originally Posted by jaorta View Post
    That interview tells me Stevo is on his way unless he gets a
    deal that he cannot refuse,is he looking for parity with Behan
    and Gamble???Not much loyalty there....
    With him spending most the season sidelined and with the likes of Gary Sheehan, Behan, Brosnan, Gaffney and Quinn all around he probably doesn't see himself getting as much first team football as he would like. It is a job he is looking for at the end of the day so loyalty doesn't bother me.

With the line up above, unless he was to hit the ground running banging in goals, I don't think he would be too much of a loss to be honest. I hope he stays but wouldn't be gutted about it.

If we can have a squad of

Barry Ryan
    David Ryan
    Shaun Kelly
    Pat Purcell
    Corie Tracey
    John Frost
    Andrew Bhandarkar
    Shane Tracey
    Thomas Lyons
    Jeffrey Judge
    David O'Leary
    Joe Gamble
    Rory Gaffney
    Denis Behan
    Padraig Quinn
    Sean Brosnan
    Gary Sheehan

I'd be very happy with that and feel it is more than enough to get promoted next season. Any signings on to that (i.e Kenny Browne) and with some of the quality from last years A team and current under 19 team (i.e Coughlan, McGann, Cian Collins and Sean O Callaghan) would be excellent.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 28/11/2011 at 11:31 AM.

There is no doubt a fully fit O Flynn would be a big addition to the squad,he is a great target man but I think
    his attitude at times leaves a lot to be desired.I have observed him playing in numerous games and if he
    doesnt get on the end of a ball or a cross it is always his teammates fault.The amount of times I have seen him abusing
    teammates is something else,so maybe morale or team spirit wise he might be no loss.....

[
    QUOTE=jaorta;1556379]I think
    his attitude at times leaves a lot to be desired.I have observed him playing in numerous games and if he
    doesnt get on the end of a ball or a cross it is always his teammates fault.QUOTE]
    Aren't all strikers like this to be fair...not a bad thing

He also states Limerick don't know what division they'll be playing in next year....they do we are in the first division he probably doesn't want another year in this cesspit

Stephen O'Flynns ten year stats.

2001-02 Cork City. 7 appearances, 1 goal
    2002-03 Limerick. 58 appearances 28 goals.
    2004 Cork City 1 appearance, no goals.
    2005-06 Derry City, 47 appearances, 9 goals
    2007-08 Galway United 29 appearances, 7 goals.
    2009 Limerick, 13 appearances, 14 goals.
    2010 Northampton Town 3 appearances no goals
    2011 Limerick, 16 appearances, 9 goals.
    Total Appearances 174, total goals 68. Average one goal every two games.
    Limerick: 87 appearances, 51 goals. Average one goal in every 1.7 games
    All other clubs, 87 appearances, 17 goals. Average one goal in every 5.1 games.
    Looking at that, in ten years he’s only played 174 games. Not a great record with injuries. He has made a name for himself with Limerick only and after each successful stint with Limerick he has run as quickly as possible to see if he can cut it elsewhere. He can’t. He’s done well for Limerick, but for him to want parity with the likes of Gamble or Behan then he needs to be doing a whole lot more in my book. No great loss if he went, but I’d rather he stayed.

1,001 Posts
    He scores more than a goal every two games and you want him to 'do a whole lot more'?

Lads I think its time to give Conor Kavangh a call, best player at junior level in this country by far. he also would love to play for his city, which means the extra edge.

420 Posts
    Whens the last time he played a full season?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    He scores more than a goal every two games and you want him to 'do a whole lot more'?
    Youre missing my point. I'm saying that Limerick seems to be the only place he has performed and it might be in his best interest to stay put. One goal in less than every two games with limerick, as opposed to one goal in over every 5 everywhere else he has tried. In order for him to justify higher wages I beleive he needs to give a greater commitment to the club, and also the fact that he is injury prone makes him a risk also.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twofeet noboots View Post
    Lads I think its time to give Conor Kavangh a call, best player at junior level in this country by far. he also would love to play for his city, which means the extra edge.
    Have you seen the rest of the junior players in the country to say he is the best?

If he would love to play for his city he wouldnt have left for Pike a few days after signing for em when he did.

Quote Originally Posted by twofeet noboots View Post
    I don't see how this has any relevance. Christian Benitez was the best player in Mexico and was rubbish in England.
    Get into them! ( They're easyyyy! )

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Have you seen the rest of the junior players in the country to say he is the best?

If he would love to play for his city he wouldnt have left for Pike a few days after signing for em when he did.
    Two things; He actually played a full season with Pike and was hugely instrumental in them winning the FAI Junior Cup, so saying he left a few days after signing is tosh. Secondly, stop trying to stir it up with the Junior lads. Twofeet Noboots simply made a point that he felt Kavanagh was looking to play with Limerick and that he rated him highly.

For what its worth, I agree with him, having seen him play a lot in the last 12 months. I reckon he's well worth a call...

Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast