Thread: UCD players called up for Ireland under 19s

Does nobody read the Indo lads?

Gary Dicker has been called into the Under 19 panel as a replacement squad member.

3,250 Posts
    Ireland U-19s? Cool!

Don't read tabloids...!

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Ireland U-19s? Cool!

Don't read tabloids...!
    I don't buy the Indo I read other people's ones

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Does nobody read the Indo lads?

Gary Dicker has been called into the Under 19 panel as a replacement squad member.
    Good to see that no one reads the Herald, Darren Quigley has been called up too.

3,250 Posts
    From eleven-a-side. Only one other eL player - Shane Long from Cork, who was called up as a very late replacement. They're off to Bari today to play two games against Italy, with McCaffrey (the manager) looking ahead to qualifiers in Serbia and Montenegro in April. Which would mean the two could miss a couple of games in the new season...

Full squad -

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Charlton Athletic), Darren Quigley (UCD)

Defenders: Travis Binnion (Sheffield United and a former England U-15 cricketer! ), Darren O’Dea (Celtic), David Elebert (Preston North End), Richard Keogh (Stoke City).

Midfielders: Stephen Foley-Sheridan (Aston Villa - I presume a brother of Michael F-S? Think he's at Liverpool?), Ian Morris (Leeds United), Michael Collins (Huddersfield Town), Darren Gibson (Manchester United), James Hand (Huddersfield Town), John Paul Kelly (Ipswich Town), Gary Dicker (UCD).

Forwards: Shane Long (Cork City), Andrew Keogh (Leeds United), Billy Clarke (Ipswich Town), Jonathan Hayes (Reading), Diarmuid O’Carroll (Celtic).
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 17/01/2005 at 12:29 PM.

Dicker played in the first friendly today, at right-back. See here.

Incidentally, Paul Byrne is listed on the under 19s' squad profile page.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    From eleven-a-side. Defenders: Travis Binnion (Sheffield United and a former England U-15 cricketer! )
    From what my sources tell me there is a player in English County Cricket who is Irish born and he is being considered a future England International cricketer. He is currently playing for Ireland but..........
    It seems that Ireland is not a fully fledged national team at cricket. It plays in one of the English County Cup competitions along with Scotland.
    If someone from this country reached the standard of being considered "international" standard the sad fact is that they would have to line out for England to play against the Australias, Zimbabwe's and West Indies of this World in World Cups and Test matches etc.

West Indies play us occasionally in friendly outings as warms ups for serious competitive games in England.

All of which means Travis Binnion is not precluded from playing footie for us if he has played Cricket for Sasana !

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    Dicker played in the first friendly today, at right-back. See here.

Incidentally, Paul Byrne is listed on the under 19s' squad profile page.

Fair play to Gary. Another Republic Of Ireland International player for the College Annals
    It seems himself and Darren Quigley are the only squad members with any serious first team experience playing for their respective clubs.

Is there any info on the venues in Serbia/Montenegro when the lads go there?

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Is there any info on the venues in Serbia/Montenegro when the lads go there?
    Why do you ask? Have you ever been to Yugosalvia?

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    I don't think CTID has ever been to Yugoslavia. He may have arrived there later. But he's raging he's mislaid his passport with a shiny Serbian hologram visa on it.

I have a lazy question, are the U19 qualifiers for the upcoming U19 UEFA championships in Northern Ireland starting the first week in July.
    ( During the school holidays like, after matricaltion exams.)?
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    I have to Correct you there Harpo... and it is a Yugoslavia Hologram Visa on my missing passport for the record. Yes I have been there in 2001, and 2002 when it was still called Yugoslavia, and also in 2003 when it was called Serbia-Montenegro as it is to this day.
    And I am planning a return visit later in the year.... hoping to see Red Star play this time around

Dicker played the first half in the second game and Quigley played the second half. See soccercentral and eleven a side. Quigley described as "in commanding form".
    Last edited by Schumi; 20/01/2005 at 3:51 PM.

3,250 Posts
    And we won 2-0!

What's the 3-4-3 about? Gary Dicker playing in mid this time though. And another two internationals to add to the list!

Dicker is in the squad for the next matches as well. They're playing Norway, the Czech Republic and Denmark in Spain.

Surprised that Martain Reilly( currently playing with with Burnley and making great progress) wasnt called into the squad.
    The only interesting answers are those which destroy the questions!