Thread: What are you listening to?

What are you listening to?

saw this thread on metalireland go on for ages. its funny the mix ye get so heres what am listening to at the mo.

lynrd skynrd
    europe
    ozzy
    saxon
    zztop
    nelly
    tq
    g n r.

all random but of course.

Bit of a mixed bag too:

Redneck Manifesto
    Four Tet
    Arcade Fire
    Boards of Canada
    Badly Drawn Boy
    Kila
    The Roots

Quote Originally Posted by finlma
    Bit of a mixed bag too:
    Kila
    the dublin band right? the one that did an entire concept album devoted to the asian kung-fu show Monkey? they are probably the only irish band i've heard that interest me. at their worst they sound a bit like rusted root but other times they have a great, loose, er, throb. i confess i don't listen to a lot of irish music but their re-invention of folk is cool

Quote Originally Posted by ken foree
    the dublin band right?
    Thats them alright. Great to see live - really put on a performance.

Listenin' to Flloyd a lot lately
    I'd forgotten how good they were until live 8

Thats them alright. Great to see live - really put on a performance.
    so i've heard, mate from kildare is always bangin on about them and the live gig being amazing and.. cloudy!

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    Listenin' to Flloyd a lot lately
    I'd forgotten how good they were until live 8
    amazing weren't they, poignant with waters up there. and wish you were here for syd barrett, just great. they wasted all the other posers that came before them at that thing. do you like the early syd stuff at all??

Fairytale of New York - The Pogues

3,327 Posts
    Bell X1 - Flock
    Death Cab For Cutie - Plans
    Audioslave - Audioslave
    Rolling Stones - 40 Licks
    Ian Brown - Solarized

Amigos........i know this is auld lads stuff and very low-fi but I thoroughly recommend this album. This guy is hitting 60 or maybe over it but still has a voice that makes foghorn-voiced Anastacia sound like a silent faart in a bread bin.

John Fogerty/Creedence Clearwater Revival..

You won't be disappointed by this.........TRUST ME.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/...107633-4971658

Even some live stuff and a song (live and studio versions) written for the Vietnam War that's still relevant today, what with rich kunts sending working class kids to war for oil and based on a bunch of lies.
    FORTUNATE SON

Another CCR album "Cosmos Factory" contains a song called "Long as I can see the light"........his voice on this makes the hair stand up on the back of my head.
    Get that too
    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...music&n=507846
    Check out a bit of that song in the Amazon samples above
    Last edited by hamish; 03/12/2005 at 10:27 AM.

Mostly still listening to the Coldplay album and Oasis' back catalogue . havent really bought any new albums in a while , oh and Antics too is great

Currently listening to Enigma to soothe the hangover away. Anything with the remotiest loudness attached could result in my head exploding.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

What a waster - The Libertines

Currently listening to:

1. yer man in the apartment downstairs taking a pi$$
    2. hard fi
    3. fc five
    4. giveamanakick
    5. darkest hour
    6. social distortion
    7. grant lee buffalo
    8. candiria
    9. the shams
    10. lawnmower deth
    you gowl!

Air - Moon Safari.

Quote Originally Posted by declan hide
    Currently listening to:
    4. giveamanakick
    I saw them supporting the Rednecks here in Galway. Seem pretty good. Limerick lads I believe.

No Mercy(live) - Nils Lofgren

I saw them supporting the Rednecks here in Galway. Seem pretty good. Limerick lads I believe.
    yep limerick lads. just released their 2nd album and its outstanding. do yourself a favour and buy it.

havent seen the rednecks in a while. 4 or 5 piece thesedays?
    you gowl!

Quote Originally Posted by declan hide
    havent seen the rednecks in a while. 4 or 5 piece thesedays?
    5 piece - there's a keyboard chap, 3 guitarists and the drummer. The main lad that plays the bass is some nutter.

354 Posts
    Listening to 'Negative Vibes' by Damien Dempsey I think he is a superb artist.
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.