Thread: Steve Coppell

Steve Coppell

At the Drogs-Bray match looking for another bargain. Who do you think he's looking at?

There's Not Much To Look At Unfortunatly.

He probably saw that was cup semi so assumed some quality players available. He doesn't know much about the eL though.

64 Posts
    I suppose we can look forward to seeing this unnamed player in the Irish squad soon

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    He probably saw that was cup semi so assumed some quality players available. He doesn't know much about the eL though.
    Yeah, I mean we've been hearing for the last few years from Cork fans how insignificant cup football is....

The only really good player imo was Daz yesterday but for obvious reasons a move for him is unrealistic. Fabio did well too but I doubt he was looking at him.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Yeah, I mean we've been hearing for the last few years from Cork fans how insignificant cup football is....
    everyone know the league is where its at !!

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    we've been hearing for the last few years from Cork fans how insignificant cup football is....
    We were talking about the League Cup.

Reading manager Steve Coppell was in Ireland over the weekend to run the rule of Drogheda United trio Stephen Bradley, Steven Gray and Graham Gartland.

The Championship manager signed Kevin Doyle from Cork City during the summer and believes that the eircom League has plenty of talent available for relatively cheap money compared to other Leagues.

Although he travelled to Drogheda to watch Bradley, he was impressed by central defensive pairing Gray and Gartland and, with Reading currently in the market for a centre half, Reading are going to monitor the pair before the next transfer window.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2005/10/25/story227043.html

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Although he travelled to Drogheda to watch Bradley, he was impressed by central defensive pairing Gray and Gartland and, with Reading currently in the market for a centre half, Reading are going to monitor the pair before the next transfer window.
    well to be fair they were the only two players from our side that played really well. cant undertand how fabio got man of the match ahead of both of them.

MOTM was Tresson by a mile, he played in about 5 positions during the 90 minutes and was fantastic in all of them, scored a goal as well. A real captians preformance. Your to centre back IMO were your best preformers, Gartland especially had a very good game. For all the money Drogs have pumped into having a full-time set up it really is'nt showing, biog changes needed to catch up with the likes of Cork and Derry

Reading manager Steve Coppell was in Ireland over the weekend to run the rule of Drogheda United trio Stephen Bradley, Steven Gray and Graham Gartland.

The Championship manager signed Kevin Doyle from Cork City during the summer and believes that the eircom League has plenty of talent available for relatively cheap money compared to other Leagues.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2005/10/25/story227043.html
    The key part of the above statement is the "plenty of talent available for relatively cheap money" bit.

Irish teams are still off-loading players for way below their real market value. Doyle went to Reading for £70,000 ! For feck sake - Derry sold Darren Kelly to Carlisle - then a struggling 2nd/3rd Division club - for £100,000. Galway got €20,000 from Derry for Alan Murphy. Does £70k for Doyle really look like a good deal ? I know there's clauses about more money based on Doyle's performance, international appearnces etc, but it's no wonder Coppell is back with his shopping trolley again.

The problem is that English clubs assume they can pay less for players here than they would pretty much anywhere else. And because all our clubs are short of cash, we tend to take their offers for fear they'll go away and not come back. Only when a few clubs start to say 'no' to offers like £70k for quality players will we start to change that ethos.....

For all the money Drogs have pumped into having a full-time set up it really is'nt showing, biog changes needed to catch up with the likes of Cork and Derry
    yeah have to say lads yeve been a big dissapointment this year... whats the feelin up there? has doolin saved his hide by virtually guaranteeing european football next year, or are ye finally gonna find a manager who will take ye places
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

Quote Originally Posted by monkey magic
    yeah have to say lads yeve been a big dissapointment this year... whats the feelin up there? has doolin saved his hide by virtually guaranteeing european football next year, or are ye finally gonna find a manager who will take ye places
    just speaking for myself (and i've seen feck all since moving away) - all is forgiven for this season because of a cup final. if you have waited a lifetime for a trophy/cup final appearance, you'd understand the sense of elation in the ground at the final whistle.

its a bit like ireland under jack charlton, apparently a few fai heads were gunning for his head until gary mackay interveined - **** football, plenty of draws etc. well had we lost to craptown earlier in the cup, doolin's head would have been called for by the fans.

now, well just let us enjoy this moment first

Reading are set to sign Irish teenager Conor Sinnott until the end of the season after he impressed on a three-week trial with the Royals.

Sinnott, 19, is a former Irish youth international and has been playing for Bray Wanderers in the Eircom League.

Director of football Nicky Hammond told the club's website: "Conor has gone home for a week and he'll come back to stay with us on a non-contract basis."

Sinnott played for Royals' reserves in last week's friendly with Bristol City.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/foot...ng/4436584.stm

Sinnott didn't play in the cup match but considering it is now exactly 3 weeks since the match I'm pretty sure Coppell took him over at the time.

I just hope Fabio keeps having off nights when coppell's around
    wouldn't want them to snatch him from under our noses now would we

The fact is Sinnott struggled here. He did reasonably well for the u21s but he couldn't break into the first team. I think he only played about 3 or 4 games for the first team this season. I don't know if he even travelled to the Cup Semi.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    I just hope Fabio keeps having off nights when coppell's around
    wouldn't want them to snatch him from under our noses now would we
    but he's not going to you
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS